Montgomery County Association of Administrators and Principals (MCAAP)

Award Announcements

2018 Dr. Edward Shirley Award for Excellence in Educational Administration and Supervision Winner: Dr. Myriam Yarbrough

Dr. Myriam Yarbrough

MCAAP is pleased to announce that Dr. Myriam Yarbrough, principal at Paint Branch High School since 2013, is the 2018 recipient of the Dr. Edward Shirley Award for Excellence in Educational Administration and Supervision.

This prestigious award, given by the Montgomery County Association of Administrators and Principals, is presented annually to an administrator or supervisor who exemplifies outstanding leadership and accomplishments in the areas of purposeful leadership, instructional or system-wide leadership, human resources development, resource management, interpersonal skills, professional involvement, and community and stakeholder involvement.

Yarbrough is often heard using a quote from Henry Ford when working with her school community: ‘Coming together is a beginning, keeping together is progress, working together is success.’ Her colleagues say that this quote epitomizes her leadership style and say that she could have coined the phrase ‘lead by example.’ She is known as a dedicated, hardworking and caring role model to staff and students. Her staff and students speak of her strong belief that all students can and will succeed. The programs she has worked with her staff to implement, most notably Transitions and AVID, empower students with behaviors, confidence and skills to succeed in rigorous and challenging academic courses, as well as to prosper as global citizens. These programs have greatly improved academic performance.

Colleagues shared that Yarbrough creates an environment where everyone feels valued. Parents speak of her strong and dedicated understanding of the Paint Branch community and its diverse needs. Many stories shared by students, parents and colleagues demonstrate her dedication to fostering student achievement, empowering students and staff to succeed in a collaborative environment while providing nurturing guidance along the way. If there is a Paint Branch event, she will surely be in attendance cheering on her students and showing support for the entire community. She is described by students as ‘our mom away from home.’

Yarbrough’s background has been deeply rooted in education; she began her career as a chemistry teacher. She has been in educational administration since 2002. She is the former

principal of Francis Scott Key Middle School, and former assistant principal of Montgomery Blair High School and Parkland Middle School. She earned her Ed.D. from the University of Maryland in 2013. In addition to her work at Paint Branch, Yarbrough serves as an adjunct professor at McDaniel College.

Yarbrough will be among the honorees at the annual Champions for Children celebration on April 18, and by the MCAAP membership at the spring meeting in May.

Mildred Charley-Greene, Northwood High School, Recognized by Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals (MASSP) as High School Principal of the Year


Mildred Charley-Greene, principal of Northwood High School, has been named the High School Principal of the Year by the Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals (MASSP).

“She fosters a culture of collaboration among the staff there,” said Scott Pfeifer, executive director Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals. “Northwood is a very diverse population. She works on individualizing instruction and finding ways to involve kids in the school, so they have a sense of identity within the school.”

Pfeifer said that MASSP received more than 50 nominations for the awards, and 12 of them applied for the honor. Charley-Greene’s nomination packet included a variety of information, including data about Northwood; her involvement in professional organizations and professional development; test scores; leadership; personalization of programs for students; curriculum, instruction and assessment; and letters of recommendation from students, colleagues and a supervisor.

Cindy Dillon, principal of Patapsco Middle School in Howard County, won the Middle School Principal of the Year Award.

One application will be forwarded to the National Association of Secondary School Principals for National Principal of the Year honors. The formal announcement of that name will be made on Friday, March 16.